Thursday, March 1, 2012

Asia Cup 2012

The Asia Cup has been held 10 times since 1984 which was the very first edition & that was held in the UAE. India were the champions of the inaugural edition.

India have won it 5 times (they are also defending champions)
Sri Lanka have won it 4 times
Pakistan have won it just the once in 2000

However, the last time it was held in Bangladesh the Green Shirts won it in 2000

There has never been a Pakistan-India final in the 10 Asia Cups that have been held
Sri Lanka have featured in all of the 10 finals there have been

There has been a Sri Lanka – India final on 8 occasions
There has been a Sri Lanka – Pakistan final on 2 occasions

Just like 2010 only the 4 main Asian Countries will be participating with no UAE or Hong Kong participating like we have seen in the previous editions of 2004 and 2006 when it was extended to 6 teams

This is the 3rd Asia Cup that is being held in Bangladesh after 12 consecutive years. The previous editions were held in 1988 and 2000. Sri Lanka won the one in 1988 here.

India and Pakistan have only held the Asia Cup once before in 1990-91 and 2008
It’s been held in the UAE twice
It’s been held in Sri Lanka 4 times
It’s been held in Bangladesh twice

Player of the Tournament in Asia Cups Previously
2010=Shahid Afridi – India won it
2008= Ajantha Mendis – Sri Lanka won it
2004= Sanath Jayasuria – Sri Lanka won it
2000= Mohammad Yousuf – Pakistan won it

Team Records in Asia Cups
Sri Lanka: Played 40|Won 29|Lost 11
India: Played 36|Won 22|Lost 13|NR 1
Pakistan: Played 31|Won 18|Lost 12 |NR 1
Bangladesh: Played 29|Won 2|Lost 27

Most Runs in Asia Cups: Sanath Jayasuria

Most Wickets in Asia Cups: Murali

All Time Asian XI

Sanath = explosiveness, aggression, fearlessness & valuable 6th bowler with his SLA
SRT = run machine with class, stylishness & elegance at the top to get the 80s-100s

Sangakkara = left handed one down accumulator who will drop anchor with technique

Inzamam = the Sultan of Multan who is exceptional against raw pace, safe hands in the slips

Sourav = left handed bat who can play different situations/positions & handy medium pacers
Imran (C) = genuine all rounder & tactically smart organiser, dictator who can lead men

Dhoni (WK) (VC) = ice cool finisher & reasonably sound behind the stumps

Wasim = prodigious left arm swing, pace & seam & occasional pinch hitter

Vaas = steady line & length with swing in the air & no mug with the willow

Waqar = toe crushing inswing Yorkers at pace with a slinging low round arm action

Murali = off spinning demon, container & wicket taker, unorthodox & mysterious

12th man – Kapil Dev – India’s world cup winning captain in 1983 cannot go unmentioned

No comments:

Post a Comment