Thursday, September 8, 2011

ODI Series Starts Tomorrow

Preferred Line Up

Mohammad Hafeez
Asad Shafiq/Azhar Ali
Younis Khan (realistically he will play)
Misbah ul Haq
Shoaib Malik
Umar Akmal
Adnan Akmal (WK)
Sohail Tanvir
Sohail Khan (I think he will be better in LOIs)
Saeed Ajmal
Junaid Khan
12th man: Yasir Shah

Pakistan have won 14/20 ODIs this year. Out of the 14 wins 9 have come chasing. Misbah has been a key player in these successful run chases with 3 50s* and a run a ball 43* as well as a 32 and another not out all in the wins batting 2nd. He has got 2 series winning MOMs this year both from chasing in the 2nd innings. Hafeez and Misbah are the two leading run getters for Pakistan in ODIs this year with an average of 37 and 61 respectively. The leading ODI wicket takers for Pakistan this year are Shahid Afridi and Wahab Riaz with 27 wickets in 18 matches and 23 wickets in 12 matches respectively. Both of these bowlers are absent on this tour due to retirement and rest. Nonetheless Saeed Ajmal is here standing at 21 wickets with 10 matches this year. Misbah ul Haq is yet to lose an LOI as captain. Pakistan have won 9/12 batting 2nd whereas 5/8 batting first this year so far…….. 3/0 whitewash on the cards potentially if Pakistan’s overall record against the Zimbabweans is anything to go by? There will be a 2 day break in between each ODI and then 2 T20s with a day gap in between.

No comments:

Post a Comment