Friday, October 21, 2011

Asia Cup 2012

The Asia Cup will be held between 12th and 22nd March 2012 in Bangladesh with the hosts, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India featuring. Both India and Sri Lanka will be coming into this tournament on the back of the completion of the Triangular series down under. All matches will be played in the capital city of Dhaka. A Pakistan-India match has been scheduled for Sunday 18th March 2011. India are the most successful team with 5 titles in 10 events. They are also defending champions after winning the competition on June 24th 2010 after beating Sri Lanka in the final on their home turf. The last time the event was held in Bangladesh was in 2000 and Pakistan won their only one of the 10 editions then under Moin Khan’s captaincy. He was awarded MOM in the final against Sri Lanka and led from the front. Misbah-ul-Haq will want to repeat the same and I back him to do so with his outstanding record as a leader.

No comments:

Post a Comment